Aloha, my fellow Netflix watchers! So far, I have covered the wonderful genres of Drama and Comedy, which brings me to my next choice…

DRAMEDY.

I know, that’s a weird name for a television drama.  But it makes total sense because there are certain shows that are able to make you laugh one moment and then completely wreck your emotions and make you want to curl up with a box of tissues and cry.  These next two shows that I am going to write about are able to mix drama and comedy with ease, and are among some of my favorite shows of all time.  So without further ado, I begin this blog post with the wonderful show known as…


Orange Is The New Black

Image result for orange is the new black

photo courtesy of

I feel like everyone has at least heard about this show, but maybe you have been skeptical to try it out.  Maybe you think that it won’t live up to the hype that people have given it for the five years that it has been out, that you will be disappointed by what you are getting into.

You would be WRONG.

Orange Is The New Black is based on a true story about Piper Kerman (named Piper Chapman in the show), who turned herself into prison for assisting her ex-girlfriend smuggle drugs.  Piper has to quickly adjust to the prison life and its eccentric cast of characters, such as the Russian head cook Red and another inmate named Crazy Eyes (it will make sense when you meet her).  This show strongly develops Piper and the people around her to create a compelling show to watch, as each episode focuses on a specific character in the prison and fleshes out their backstory while progressing the present story as well.  You’ll laugh, you’ll cry, and you’ll form a strong connection with the inmates of Litchfield Penitentiary.


Shameless

Image result for shameless

photo courtesy of

I randomly found Shameless one summer on Netflix and didn’t really know anything about it or whether it would be good.  And then I started watching it.  And then I watched the entire show in about a month.

This show will suck you in and hold on until you finish.

The show follows the Gallagher family in Chicago, where the big sister (Fiona) takes care of all of her siblings (Lip, Ian, Debbie, Carl and Liam) as her family dwells in the throes of poverty.  She also has to care for her alcoholic father Frank, who always ends up getting the entire family in more trouble than they deserve.  Shameless is masterful at switching from comedy moments to strong drama in the blink of an eye, as the family gets into more ridiculous situations as the show progresses throughout its 7 seasons.  This is an easy show to binge watch for sure, and I highly recommend introducing yourself to the Gallagher season soon.


So that’s the end of our Dramedy tour.  Both of the shows that I have suggested will keep you occupied with wonderful storylines and characters to fall in love with (or hate, but that’s okay too).  Tune in next time as I take you to the genre of…

Come on, you didn’t think I was actually going to spoil the next genre, did you?